Getting started with kodi and coreelec

Hi, I’m new to coreelec and kodi, but not new to Linux, administration, and working with SBC devices.

I’ve just purchased a Beelink S922X and have successfully installed coreelec on it. I’d like to be able to use it to stream live TV, movies, TV shows, and access the SMB shares on my local network. I’d also like to configure SSH.

What’s next? Where are the docs (video?) that explain next steps? I’ve searched quite a bit, but they all make assumptions you’re either already able to get to the command-line or are otherwise missing pieces I don’t understand.

Do I now need to install Kodi? Or is the front-end I see when it boots Kodi itself? With some other devices I’ve played with in the past, the front-end was different, and had more of a media box look to it, where it was possible to stream shows from the Internet. What am I missing?

I’ve also enabled SSH during install, but port 22 isn’t open.

Should I be installing these apps using the Play Store or the AppMarket?

What you see when you boot CE is Kodi.
You now need to configure Kodi to do what you require … via the add-ons available through the Kodi repository.

It is all basic Kodi so you will find all the required info through the Kodi site, wiki and videos.

1 Like

I do not understand your doubts, if you have them look for information. I will make a summary of CoreELEC. CoreELEC is a Linux operating system with aarch64 kernel that works on Amlogic processors, which allows 32-bit Arm applications to run, which does not have a desktop on which applications and services run except Kodi.

Kodi is well known and there is a lot of information on the internet, search Wikipedia.

To learn more about CoreELEC you will need to activate the SSH server on the device and an SSH client console, and learn something about Linux commands. This will also allow you to transfer files using an SFTP client.