Kernel module didn't get built, any logs as to why?

Hi everyone! I tried to add a module to the kernel and then build CE. While the CE image gets built and is working fine the kernel module I added is missing. Is there a log somewhere that tells me why the module didn’t get built?

I’m a beginner just playing around so any help is appreciated. :slight_smile:

How did you add/enable this module? Did you modify file projects/Amlogic-ng/linux/linux.aarch64.conf ?

Read this https://github.com/CoreELEC/CoreELEC/pull/244#issuecomment-642033706

1 Like

Thanks! You were spot on. :slight_smile: Now building fails on the module I want to add so time for some trial and error.

Alright, so the module I’m trying to add is gpio-ir-tx, which is included in linux 4.14 and up. I managed to get it built in linux-amlogic 4.9 with some dirty hacking in rc-core related files, without knowing C so I’m fairly certain the module won’t even work in the state I compiled it in but I would like to test it anyways. I put my modifications up on Github if anyone feels like checking it.

Anyways, to test the module I need to define a GPIO pin for it in my dVIM3’s device tree file as per the documentation over here. Can somebody show me the right way to do this either in the device tree source (VIM3 dts file over here) or from commandline using fdtput (which is suited for this purpose, right?)?

Try with pin 39 GPIODZ_15

irled@0 {
		compatible = "gpio-ir-tx";
		gpios = <&gpio GPIOZ_15 GPIO_ACTIVE_HIGH>;
	};
1 Like

Thanks, I added that to the device tree source and built a new CE image (confirmed binding by decompiling dtb.img with dtc). But I don’t see another lirc device for sending IR signals. Just the standard /dev/lirc0 and it can only be used for receiving (not sending):

# ir-ctl -f -d /dev/lirc0
Receive features /dev/lirc0:
 - Device can receive raw IR
warning: /dev/lirc0: device supports setting receiving timeout but min timeout is 0