Migrate from SD to EMMC

Hello, I’ve been running CoreELEC for over 3 years now, and all this time I’ve used the SD card. I have never once booted to the android I have on my x96 mini.

Recently, I started having issues with YouTube videos loading and buffering after 1 second. My suspicion is that the SD card is dying, and the writing of the buffer (I’m guessing here) to the SD card takes too much time due to bad sectors or low storage usable.

Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong. I was thinking that if I was able to copy the existing installation from the SD card to the eMMC, that won’t be an issue, and maybe I’ll get faster load times as well.

Just to mention, streaming from my NAS works fine even on 1080p, and this is a rather fresh install when I created 19.1 I think on the SD card, so it’s not the same image I stared with. It’s also now an Amlogic -ng which is one of the reasons I switched to the new image.

My question is, is this possible to do, and if let’s say the eMMC won’t boot correctly can I still boot from my SD card? Or is the whole bootloader getting corrupted?

Thanks

If you have issues with youtube then update to latest alpha from here:

It should fix buffering issue until next yt addon release

Thank you for the reply, 2 questions though:

1. How will I update to the alpha? And 2. Regardless of YouTube, will installing to the eMMC have any benefit, aside from stability compared to an SD card that can die.

Slightly faster load times and loading of big file lists. Should be consistently more reliable going forward and less susceptible to damage caused by power outages which can corrupt SD cards. Can see no real downsides.
The tool is ceemmc which is bundled with CE.

Shoog

This is not true, both are prone to damage by sudden power disconnection.
SD and eMMC are managed memories, and quite similar. The only advantage on eMMC is the increased bandwith due to higher buswidth and shorter pcb traces…