Recommendation

Hey folks,

i’m sorry about these question, but i’m very new to CE.
I like to install a stable system to receive DVB-S, hear a lot of Musik in good quality, and watch some recorded videos.
Therefore i think about a Odroid N2+, TELESTAR DIGIBIT TWIN & external USB HDD.
TV goes via HDMI to TV and sound should go via SPDIF or analog to analog 2.0 amplifier.
I like to use tvheadend client and server on the same unit - just connect to the DIGIBIT.
Is this a usable configuration for now and the future?
Other recommendations are very welcome.

mny tnx & vy 73

Lena

Hey @Betatester ,
thanks for your quick reply.
I know, the DIGIBIT ist not the top of the line, but for me it seems to be enough.
It should be placed under the roof only connected to the twin LNB, Ethernet and power.
I have also read about some trouble getting it to work with tvheadend, but most issues are solved using the right setting for the type of LNB. Many people have had success with the combination of tvheadend and DIGIBIT TWIN, so i like to give it a try.
The issue they referenced in the post is about 6 years old and i think it’s already solved.
I also know it has a little thermal problem and should not be mounted in bad vented enviroment, but that’s no problem - it will be mounted on a vertikal plate with distance tubes together with other electronic components like antenna switches and tuners.
I believe the DIGIBIT is a piece possible to handle, configure and forget - hopefully :wink:
BTW, at home i use tvheadend 4.2.8-36 with a DD PCIe DVB-C Twin Tuner on Ubuntu for years without any problems - nice card!
Is it time to start with tvheadend 4.3 under CE, or better use the bundled addons?

vy 73 Lena

You can try and follow the TVHeadend walk-through from our wiki, the procedure should be more or less the same, but be aware only certain USB TV Tuners have been thoroughly tested so there are no guarantees it will work.

TVHeadend 4.2 should be fine.