[SOLVED] How to install on a Venz V10 device?

Hi,
I’m a complete newbie!
I have a Venz V10 Android box but it’s really starting to act out (slow, freeze, etc…) and discovered that CoreELEC might be a better option than LibreELEC for running Kodi.

Apparently my device is compatible as it shows up in that list when I downloaded the CoreELEC installation file.

And I’m now having trouble installing it!
I tried pretty much every option available and relevant to my device found on THIS installation help page:

• Khadas VIM & MINIX U1 / U9 are not for my device
  • Terminal Emulator tried that but got errors on reboot. The message that appears at the bottom of the screen is:

Supported API: 3
Recovery is listening adb sideload…
Waiting adb sideload command…
E: Cannot load volume /misc!

– No package file found selected.
E: Cannot load volume /misc!

And at the top of the screen, the option available to me are:

Reboot system now
Reboot to booloader
Apply update from EXT
Apply update from cache
Apply update from ADB
Wipe data / factory reset
Wipe cache partition
Mount / system
View recovery logs
Power off

If I remember correctly, I tried option 2-4 to no avail.

• Toothpick method I have no reset button on my device (I do have a reset ‘button’ in the software but…this obviously can’t apply here since the device has to be off!)

• Recovery method Not sure what to do here? What does that mean: “boot into Android” and how would I do that? My device is currently running Android so I can’t imagine it just means to turn on my device with the USB stick connected? Because if it does, it’s not giving me the “Reboot to recovery” option.

• Recovery method 2nd variant Didn’t work. As instructed - and I must say it sounded odd? - I put a random .zip file on the USB stick and selected it but of course, on reboot it gave me an error when trying to process that .zip file?? (it was a zipped photo, but from what the instructions said, that shouldn’t have mattered, right?)