[SOLVED] Odroid N2 washed out 4k

newbie here, just got my new Odroid N2 with CE 9.2.2 and most movies don’t play at 4k and seem very washed out, what could the issue be?

here’s a dispinfo from one such mkv:
http://ix.io/2k3R

I’m using this cable:

passthrough from a vizio soundbar SB36512-F6 to a TCL 65R615 – direct connection makes no difference, either

dispinfo from sony swordsmith that seems to do 2160p60 properly with the same setup

happy to provide more info, if needed

sony dispinfo:
http://ix.io/2k3V

It could be the cable what resolution are you trying to send?

Bridging the gap between audio and video in one dynamic cable, you can connect your Blu-ray player, computer, AV receiver, Apple TV, Roku, cable box, Play Station 3, Play Station, Xbox One, 360, Nintendo Wii, Wii U or other HDMI compatible devices to your Ultra 4K TV (UHD TV), HDTV, monitor, or projector. The AmazonBasics HDMI cable displays 4K video at 24 Hz, 1080p at 60 Hz, with 48-bit deep color, and supports bandwidth of 10.2 Gbps

As per the above description the cable is only rated for 4K @ 24Hz. You need a cable rated at 18 Gbps something like the below:

1 Like

The description for the Amazon basics cable states "4K Video at 30 Hz, 2160p, 48 bit/px color depth) that supports bandwidth up to 18Gbps, so it should be fine.

Yeah, it’s confusing. Description also says 10.2Gbps…

The AmazonBasics HDMI cable displays 4K video at 24 Hz, 1080p at 60 Hz, with 48-bit deep color, and supports bandwidth of 10.2 Gbps

I’ll try with a new cable but for some reason my Xbox can stream 4k fine using the same cable

I could be that the Xbox is outputting at a lower bandwidth.

There is an option to output at 4:2:2 in the system settings also an option to limit the colour depth to 8-bit. You could try both these settings to see if they work on your N2 since this could be display related.

A couple of useful articles on cable standards for anybody wondering what the difference between the 4 types is.