TANIX TX3 Alice or Odroid C4?

I’m looking for a media player to be able to play film files from USB hard drives without errors.

• CoreELEC should run very well
  • automatic resolution switching
  • automatic framerate switching
  • all frame rates without stuttering
  • Codecs VC-1, VP9 support
  • HDR to SDR very well
  • no Dolby Vision, no Atmos
  • no streaming (Netflix, Prime etc.)

A remote control with many buttons for playing the films would also be nice.

Two boxes are shortlisted:
TANIX TX3 Alice and Odroid C4

Both boxes have S905X3 and 4GB RAM.
I’m a noob in this technique. The parts for Odroid-C4 must be ordered and assembled individually. TANIX TX3 Alice, on the other hand, is a finished box. But here I fear maybe AndroidTV 10 again and then CoreELEC fails to install again.

Which of the two boxes would be better for my needs? Which box does CoreELEC run better with?

Thanks very much.

Very easy to get a C4 assembled and running. With Odroid you get the hardware you see in the sales specs with Android TV boxes, lately it’s a hit or miss, cheap components, no support for drivers in Linux. Bad cooling solutions for those boxes also.
Go for a SBC like C4 and you will have less issues than with a box.

4 Likes

Small Board Computers such as the Odroid C4 are a bit different from a Set Top Box.

They are more flexible, and can be customized to the demands of their environment.

I understand that it can be a bit challenging choosing the right device, and peripherals. And as Garcea mentioned in the above post: the quality level of the device is entirely different to.

The Hardkernel Odroid C4 comes with SoC S905X3, 4Gb Ram, 1GbE LAN, 4 USB 3.0, 1 Micro SD, and 1 μUSB 2.0 (OTG) slots. Video is 1 x HDMI 2.0 (up to 4K@60Hz with HDR, CEC, EDID).