VIM3 or VIM3L for a media center and seedbox?

Sorry for the long text, I would appreciate if anyone could help me out as I’m still a newbie with this kind of stuff :slight_smile:

I’ve recently upgraded my 1080p tv to a 4K LG CX and I want to take advantage of 4K, HDR, …

I’m currently using webOS for streaming platforms and a Xiaomi MiBox for Kodi but the mibox is super slow so I’m looking for a new and faster Kodi-only device. I would like to install CoreELEC with a lightweight skin (Arctic Zephyr 2). I also want to attach a 4TB hard drive to it and use the Transmission plugin to download directly to the hard drive.

Odroid N2/C4 were my first choice but they’re way more expensive in europe. So I’m now looking at VIM3 and VIM3L.

I can get the VIM3L htpc kit for 68€. It has S905D3 and already includes case, a heatsink and CE preinstalled. Seems like a good choice but I’m wondering if it’s worth spending extra and getting the VIM3 with the much more powerful A311D.

The VIM3 would cost me 76€ for the board alone. I would need to spend 9€ more for the passive heatsink and 10€ for the case (I could also 3D print a case for it instead though). So it’d cost me around 85-95€.

So will I benefit from getting the VIM3 if I’m just going to use it as a media center with CE and as a seedbox? Will I notice a considerable difference in perfomance compared to the VIM3L? I just want a fast and snappy UI and a device that can be ON most of the day.

I also considered a X96 max+ for 35€ but I’ve read that it has many heat problems.

X96 max + is a bad idea

2 Likes

Heat problems aside, what’s so bad about it? It looks quite solid specs-wise.

I’d still rather go safe with a SBC though. But I’m not sure if the difference between the S905D3 and A311D will be noticeable for CoreELEC only or if I’m just wasting money.