Wireguard difficulties [SOLVED]

Hi all,
I have started to research setting up a WireGuard VPN between a CoreELEC device when I am on holiday and my Internet box at home. Must I add that I am a total noob when it comes to VPNs.
The WireGuard server that is set up on my internet box provides a conf file for a client which is pretty much standard. This is it:

[Interface]
PrivateKey = xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Address = 192.168.27.66/32
DNS = 212.27.38.253
MTU = 1360

[Peer]
PublicKey = yyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Endpoint = <IP of the WG server>:6090
AllowedIPs = 0.0.0.0/0, 192.168.27.64/27, 192.168.0.0/24
PersistentKeepalive = 25

I imported this conf file in Ubuntu and in my Android phone and when I run the VPN I am able to remotely ping all the hosts on my private network at home (they all have IP’s in the 192.168.0.0/24 range, including my NFS file servers)
Now I cannot do the same from a CoreELEC box (running matrix 19.3 stable) using the following conf file:

[provider_wireguard]
Type = WireGuard
Name = WireGuard VPN
Host = <IP of the WG server>
WireGuard.Address = 192.168.27.66/32
WireGuard.PrivateKey = xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
WireGuard.PublicKey = yyyyyyyyyyyyyy
WireGuard.DNS = 212.27.38.253
WireGuard.AllowedIPs = 0.0.0.0/0, 192.168.27.64/27, 192.168.0.0/24
WireGuard.EndpointPort = 6090
WireGuard.PersistentKeepalive = 25

The creation of the VPN seems successful, CoreELEC settings => Connections shows state:ready and Type:fixed with the address 192.168.27.66 but from a console on CoreELEC I cannot ping any of the hosts at the end of the tunnel at home. On a Ubuntu PC at the same remote location (same address range as the kodi box) I can perfectly ping my PC’s at home. I am at a complete loss. Can anybody point me in the right direction or tell me what I did wrong ?

This is what the command route prints:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
default         *               0.0.0.0         U     0      0        0 wg0