CoreElec / Kodi / connect to FTP -TLS?

Is it possible to connect to CoreElec / Kodi with an FTP server using TLS encryption.
The server is set up on linux with the VSFTPD program. In Filezilla the connection works … but in CE / Kodi / option add video source / ftp …, despite many attempts, it does not detect the connection.
The port is specific and is redirected to the CE box on the router.
I have no experience with connecting outside the local LAN. Maybe there is another well-working and proven method of connecting to the server where I have audio video files?

ps. I think I found a program for this: WireGuard …
but the setup is tricky

Without kodi debug log file no one can tell what the issue is.

I don’t know if the dmesg command can help?

I’m starting to combine settings with WireGuard
but the server is on a fairly weak HC1 hardware (arm) and I think I have to deal with installing a new kernel / wireguard (the operating system is Armbian)
I found interesting entries

I changed data like IP address / port number etc.
FileZilla displays a certificate validation window on the first connection to the server, etc.
… but in CoreElec there is no such possibility, it is not an OS
I also found such info:

VSFTPD can only allow user to login from clients that support encryption services
The command line does not offer encryption services thus producing the error. So, to securely connect to the server, we need a FTP client that supports SSL/TLS connections such as FileZilla .

:frowning:

Try adding parameter to the end of the ftp link.

ftp://admin:pass@IP/Videos|auth=TLS 

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=326009

Sure it is :slight_smile:

I found this topic before and despite adding this post
auth = TLS … unable to connect :slight_smile:
but there is already some effect that the CE system is trying to establish a connection.

2022-11-01 09:39:46.252 T:11998   DEBUG <general>: Curl::Debug - TEXT: TLSv1.3 (OUT), TLS alert, unknown CA (560):