How to manipulate remote files?

Hello friends.
I am a complete newbie with CoreELEC so hope you will pardon my silly question.
Following the tutorial I have sucessfully installed CoreELEC-Amlogic-ng.arm-9.2-nightly_20190914-Generic.img.gz on S905X2 Vontar X96MAX box with 4GB RAM and 1Gbit LAN.

And while the picture is little croped (90%) my bigest issue is that no one of the three remotes that I have (box original, Sony TV, Sony Blue-Ray) works.

I know that there is option to configure remote, but my issue is not knowing where can I find this file and how should I access them?

While CoreELEC is running, I cant do anything from the box, as no remote is working. I have tried to find device in my network but could not find anything. I have tried to access with ssh, like ssh root@device ip adress and get responce like ssh: connect to host device ip port 22: Connection refused.

So how can I access place where remote files are located and how can I edit or manipulate them so I can make at least one remote to work. Any guidence or how-to with photos or videos will be highly apreciated.

Thank you.

You should not have problems with SSH access. Check that (1) the CoreELEC SSH server has been enabled in the initial installation process, that (2) you know the IP address of your TV Box within your home network, and that (3) you know the username (root ) and initial SSH access password (coreelec).

If you have not been able to do this because no IR remote control works, not even the IR remote control of your TV, then you will need a generic USB remote control or keyboard. Later, when you have SSH access then you can configure any IR remote control.

1 Like

Check your tv’s settings.

Thank you for the fast reply.
Would you be kind enough to teach me / explain how to check all this things, preferably with photos, or point me to some turorial. I have searched anythiing but didnt find any straightforward tutorial.
Thank you.

A search of this forum might be a start