Looking for a box with well supported hardware

Hello there.

I’m looking for a android box. Just am a bit lost, there’s so many different android boxes. I’d like to get a S905X2 box. But am just wondering if anyone got any recommendations. I’ll be using the Plex addon and maybe YouTube or Pluto tv if it works.

I don’t have any 4K content but probably will in the future when I get better tv. Should a S905X be good enough? I was thinking maybe a 4GB ram S905X2 so I could adjust the cache for buffering and it would have better performance.

Thanks in advance.

I’m by no means an expert on the topic, but I’d be going for something that either runs pretty stable (S905X) or is being actively worked on (odroid N2/S922). Just remember a large cache won’t improve or replace a shitty internet connection if streaming Netflix, etc. I have a 2gb device and a good connection and have no buffering issues, I wouldn’t be getting a 4gb device just for a larger cache.

That’s right. Better to get a S905X that works well with CE and I see, sounds good. What android box do you have?

I’m on the same boat.
I have a Mecool M8S Pro W and i want another box to another room.
What do you recommend?
On budget.

S905X or S905X2, or you can wait a little bit for a very nice deal on much better hardware that will be coming up soon.

3 Likes

I’d actually disagree with using the S905X boxes from my personal experience, not because of how CoreELEC runs, it runs very well… but if you have a significant amount of movies and tv shows in Plex then you will absolutely experience crashes quite often.