[SOLVED] Black screen through AVR

Just bought two brand new ODROID N2 CoreELEC Edition boxen, as they promote the best out-of-the-box experience… Of course, all I get after I plug it into my AVR is the black screen. :frowning:

I’ve used Latte Panda, RPi 3 and 4 with this AVR and all of them worked fine. With N2 I see the bootloader image, but as soon as it starts booting the kernel, everything goes quiet.

I’ve tried adding these lines to config.ini but it didn’t seem to make a difference:

setenv display_autodetect "false"
setenv hdmimode "1080p60hz"

If I bypass the AVR and plug it straight into the monitor, everything works fine (minus the sound part :slightly_smiling_face: of course).

Sorry, I am total newb with this SBC. What else should I try?

I’m no expert, so just to get you started on something:
Is your TV and AVR 4K UHD?
AVRs often have 2 HDMI signal modes. Standard and Enhanced. Enhanced would be required for 4K, so if the Kodi gui is set to 3840x2160 this might be the issue.
Did you use the same HDMI cabel for the tests (N2 to AVR and N2 to TV)?

Some more details on your TV and AVR may be useful. Maybe some logs…that’s more something for the experts.

Without AVR go to Settings, CoreELEC and set the 422 and the 8 bit limit options, reboot your box and try it with the AVR.

@timfolk none of my equipment is 4K capable yet. (N2 is the first piece of the puzzle :slightly_smiling_face:). My old school receiver is Sony STR-KS360.

@Pelican thank you, I will try this tonight.

In the meantime:

• I’ve discovered that setting resolution in config.ini seems to have no effect whatsoever.

• Here is what I see in the logs when connected to the AVR:

[    0.000000@0] vout: get hdmimode: 1080p60hz
[    0.354810@0] vout: vout1: register server: cvbs_vout_server
[    0.354815@0] vout: vout2: register server: cvbs_vout2_server
[    0.354816@0] cvbs_out: register cvbs module vout2 server ok
[    0.488340@2] vout: vout1: register server: hdmitx_vout_server